Cardio Quick Note

Posted: September 17, 2013 in General Fitness
Tags: , , , , ,

Since I’ve been doing the workout thing for more than a year now. I’ve noticed muscle gains, but I also noticed my body fat loss kinda plateaued.  After talking to a few people, I found that I may need to kick in some cardio. I hit the net, and this is what I found.

The philosophy behind fat loss and cardio. The overall goal is to burn more calories than you take in. If your goal is fat loss, incorporate 4-6, 30-60-minute cardio sessions per week into your training schedule. The best time to do cardio would be in the morning before eating breakfast. Your body will have to burn fat for energy since your glycogen stores have been depleted. If you aren’t dedicated to waking up before work to do some form of cardio, doing it after weight training is the next best option, because, well, hopefully you’ve depleted you glycogen stores lifting.

 

Comments
  1. Mike says:

    Take a look at HIIT cardie. High Intensity Interval Training. Years ago, when I was really into fitness, I was running 40 – 60 minutes, and I was seeing results, but uuuugh, I hate running for the sake of running. Then I read about HIIT and give it a shot, and holy crap the results were even better, and I only had to run for 20 minutes. The basic jest when I was doing it was do a 2 or 3 minute warmup, then go for 30 seconds at a moderate pace, then 30 secs at an all out sprint. Do this until you reach about minute 17 or 18, then cool down. Not only did this burn more calories while on the treadmill, it actually accelerated your burn through the rest of the day and even while you slept. Great results.

Leave a Reply

